Published Thursday, March 7, 2013 at 12:01 am / Updated at 12:12 am
Frauendorfer, Blair-Mobley voted to Summit all-league teams

UNO’s Paige Frauendorfer was named to the All-Summit League first team on Thursday, after voting by league coaches, sports information directors and selected media members. Senior Carolyn Blair-Mobley was named to the league’s all-newcomer team, while both Blair-Mobley and senior Jamie Nash were named honorable mention All-Summit.

Frauendorfer finished her senior season third in the Summit League in scoring (15.0 points per game) and first in rebounding (8.2 per game). She led UNO in scoring 17 times and in rebounding 14 times.

Blair-Mobley, an Oklahoma State transfer, averaged 11.4 points and 6.9 rebounds in her only season with UNO. Nash averaged 9.5 points and led the Summit in assists (6.9 per game) and steals (3.2 per game). She would have ranked in the top 10 nationally in assists and in the top 20 in steals if UNO — still transitioning to Division I — was included in official statistics.

Other All-Summit first-team members include Summit League player of the year Amanda Hyde of Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne, South Dakota State teammates Ashley Eide and Megan Waytashek, Kerah Nelson of IUPUI, and Eilise O’Connor of Missouri-Kansas City.

Members of the All-Summit second-team are Lincoln Southeast product Katie Birkel and her North Dakota State teammate Dani DeGagne, DeAirra Goss of IUPUI, freshman Ashley Luke of Western Illinois and Tempestt Wilson of South Dakota. Luke was named the league’s newcomer of the year after averaging 10.1 points and 6.9 rebounds.

Luke and Blair-Mobley were joined by Goss, Oakland’s Elena Popkey and South Dakota’s Nicole Seekamp on the all-newcomer team.

IUPUI’s Dee-Dee Bellamy was named defensive player of the year. Bellamy was the top defender for the Jaguars, who forced 21.3 turnovers per game.

South Dakota State’s Katie Lingle picked up sixth woman of the year honors. Lingle averaged 8.6 points and 4.5 rebounds.

IUPUI’s Austin Parkinson was named coach of the year after leading the Jaguars to a 12-4 conference record.

All-Summit League

First team: Ashley Eide, South Dakota State; Paige Frauendorfer, UNO; Amanda Hyde, IPFW; Kerah Nelson, IUPUI; Eilise O’Connor, UMKC; Megan Waytashek, South Dakota State. Second team: Katie Birkel, North Dakota State; Dani DeGagne, North Dakota State; DeAirra Goss, IUPUI; Ashley Luke, Western Illinois; Tempestt Wilson, South Dakota. Honorable mention: Carolyn Blair-Mobley, UNO; Erin Murphy, IPFW; Jamie Nash, UNO; Elena Popkey, Oakland; Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota. All-newcomer: Carolyn Blair-Mobley, UNO; DeAirra Goss, IUPUI; Ashley Luke, Western Illinois; Elena Popkey, Oakland; Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota.

Player of the year: Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne.

Defensive player of the year: Dee-Dee Bellamy, IUPUI.

Sixth woman of the year: Katie Lingle, South Dakota State.

Newcomer of the year: Ashley Luke, Western Illinois.

Coach of the year: Austin Parkinson, IUPUI.

Schedule »


< >
Facebook: Mavericks Today page
The Mavericks Today Facebook page is your home on the social web to get the latest UNO athletics news, photos, updates and more.
Follow OWHmavs on Twitter
Looking for the latest UNO Mavericks news from The Omaha World-Herald and Follow us on Twitter!
Deadline Deal thumbnail
The Jaipur in Rockbrook Village
Half Off Fine Indian Cuisine & Drinks! $15 for Dinner, or $7 for Lunch
Buy Now