Voters are guaranteed to elect new faces in several local and statewide races, including the Omaha and Millard school boards and Bellevue City Council, after current candidates opted against running for office again.

Tuesday was the filing deadline for current candidates for state and local offices.

Nebraska’s three current U.S. representatives — Brad Ashford, Jeff Fortenberry and Adrian Smith — will all run for re-election. Several challengers have already filed to run against Ashford, who’s wrapping up his first term representing Omaha’s 2nd District.

Nebraska Legislature

All 14 state lawmakers eligible to run this year will appear on the primary ballot. All filed as candidates to keep their seats well before the deadline for incumbents.

So far, it appears most will skate to victory in November. No opponents have filed to run against most of the incumbents.

However, turnover is guaranteed for the 11 legislative seats held by term-limited senators. The State Constitution bars legislators from serving more than two consecutive four-year terms in office.

Both incumbents in the Public Service Commission districts up for election have filed to run again. District 4 represents the eastern third of the state, minus the Omaha area and southeast Nebraska. District 5 represents the western two-thirds of the state.

Nebraska State Board of Education

All but one incumbent has filed to run again for the state board of education.

Vice President Lillie Larsen, elected in 2013, won’t run again, but incumbents Glen Flint in District 2, President Rachel Wise in District 3 and John Witzel in District 4 have filed for re-election.

Omaha Public Schools

The Omaha Public Schools board will have a new look next year.

Four-year seats on the nonpartisan board are up in Subdistricts 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9.

Three incumbents — Marian Fey in Subdistrict 3, Katie Underwood in Subdistrict 7 and Tony Vargas in Subdistrict 9 — have opted not to run for re-election. Several newcomers have filed for seats in those subdistricts.

Vargas is running for the Nebraska Legislature, Underwood recently had a baby and returned to work full time and Fey has said her two terms on the board were enough.

Board president Lou Ann Goding has filed for Subdistrict 5, and vice president Yolanda Williams has filed for Subdistrict 1. Both were elected to their first term in 2013.

Millard Public Schools

Incumbents Mike Pate and Linda Poole, both school board members since 1997, filed for re-election.

Tax watchdog Paul Meyer will not seek re-election. Voters first elected Meyer in 2012 after he had led opposition to a Millard schools bond issue.

“My wife and I are going to take vacations after December of this year,” Meyer said. “I’m old. Right now, I’ve got too many irons in the fire and too many items on my bucket list.”

Bellevue Public Schools

School board member Lisa Rybar, who has served two terms on the board, is not running again.

School board president Phil Davidson and vice president Doug Cook will run again for their nonpartisan seats on the Bellevue school board.

Three at-large seats are up for grabs in Bellevue, and two non-incumbents have also filed so far.

Papillion-La Vista Community Schools

School board President Jeremy Kinsey and incumbent Valerie Fisher have filed for re-election, but Secretary Bill Gess will not return for a fourth term.

Three four-year nonpartisan seats on the Papillion-La Vista school board are up this year.

Metropolitan Utilities District

Steve Patterson, who has served on the Metropolitan Utilities District board since 2011, will not seek re-election.

Patterson, an investment adviser, cited timing issues around his recent move to another wealth management firm and obligations to his young family.

Omaha Public Power District

John K. Green, who is entering his 30th year on the Omaha Public Power District board, has said he will not seek re-election to his Metropolitan Subdivision seat on the board.

Green was first elected to a six-year term on the board in 1986 and was re-elected four times.

Douglas County Board

All four incumbent county commissioners up in 2016 filed for re-election.

They are Democrat Mike Boyle, a former Omaha mayor who has served on the County Board since 1997; Democrat Chris Rodgers, a County Board member since 2004; Democrat Marc Kraft, a former Omaha City Council member on the County Board since 2008; and Republican Clare Duda, a County Board member since 1993.

Douglas County Officials

Incumbent County Clerk Dan Esch, a Democrat, will seek election to the office to which he was appointed last year after the death of long-time County Clerk Tom Cavanaugh.

Douglas County Public Defender Tom Riley, a Democrat, filed for re-election to the office he has held since 1996.

Sarpy County

Incumbents Don Kelly, Tom Richards and Brenda Carlisle have filed for re-election to the Sarpy County Board of Commissioners.

Public Defender Thomas Strigenz also filed for re-election for a four-year term.

City of Bellevue

Bellevue City Councilwoman Carol Blood is not seeking re-election to her at-large position.

Instead, Blood will once again challenge State Sen. Tommy Garrett for the District 3 seat in the Nebraska Legislature. Blood was elected to the council in 2008. So far two people have filed paperwork seeking Blood’s seat.

Incumbents Steven Carmichael of Ward 1, Paul Cook of Ward 3 and Don Preister of Ward 5 are all seeking re-election. A term on the nonpartisan board is four years.

City of Papillion

Four seats are up on the Papillion City Council, and all four incumbents are seeking re-election.

James Glover of Ward 1, Jason Gaines of Ward 2, Lu Ann Kluch of Ward 3 and Bob Stubbe of Ward 4 have all filed to retain their seats. A term on the nonpartisan board is four years.

City of La Vista

Mayor Douglas Kindig and four incumbent City Council members have filed for re-election.

Kindig is seeking his fourth term in office.

Mike Crawford of Ward 1, Ronald Sheehan of Ward 2, Deb Hale of Ward 3 and Jim Frederick of Ward 4 are all seeking additional four-year terms.

City of Ralston

Incumbent City Council members Maureen Konwinski, Lee Fideline and Ben Preis filed for re-election.

City of Gretna

The Gretna City Council will have two new members after both incumbents did not file for re-election.

Doug Clark of Ward 1 and Jeffrey Wollenburg of Ward 2 are not seeking additional four-year terms.

Gretna Mayor Jim Timmerman is seeking a second four-year term in office. He was elected in 2012.

City of Springfield

Roy Swenson and Dan Craney are both seeking re-election to the Springfield City Council.

Terms on the nonpartisan board are four years.

City of Bennington

Mayor Gordon Mueller is not seeking re-election.

Council members Gary Sather and Matt John did not file for re-election.

City of Valley

Mayor Carroll L. Smith and incumbent City Council members Bryon Ueckert and Bonnie C. Bevington filed for re-election.

Compiled by World-Herald staff writers Cole Epley, Martha Stoddard, Emily Nitcher and Christopher Burbach.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.