Skip to main content

Spelling Bee

Spelling Bee

Each year, nearly 80 students from Nebraska and western-Iowa compete in the Omaha World-Herald's Midwest Spelling Bee. The students earn the right to compete in the Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee by winning their county or district bees. The winner of the Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee receives an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete against champion spellers from across the country in the Scripps National Spelling Bee the end of May. The Omaha World-Herald is proud to sponsor The Midwest Spelling Bee since 1929.

2021 Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee Information

The spelling bee will be held on Saturday, March 13, 2021.

Students who participate in the Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee MUST be from a school (or home school family) registered with Scripps. You can register here.

Scripps registration information, deadlines and prices are as follows:
• $175 for schools from May 1, 2020, through December 20, 2020
• $175 for individual home school families from May 1, 2020, through December 20, 2020

2019 Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee Results

Payton Smidt 7th Grade, Tri County Public Schools, DeWitt, Nebraska
Read more

Contact Information

Tam Webb
Midwest Spelling Bee Coordinator
Omaha World-Herald
1314 Douglas Street, Suite 600
Omaha, NE 68102
Tel: 402-444-3125

Nicole Dittoe
Scripps National Spelling Bee
Sponsorship and Operations Assistant
Ph: 513-898-4033
Fax: 513-977-3808
Email: or


Past Champions

2019 Payton Smidt, DeWitt, NE
2018  Stephanie Lewis, Omaha, NE
2017  Hannah Fernandes, Omaha, NE
2016  Tharein Potuhera, Omaha, NE
2015  Brooke Biby, Omaha, NE
2014  Grace Johanningsmeier, Omaha, NE
2013  Antonio Lansang, Neligh, NE
2012  Julia Fiksinski, Omaha, NE
2011  Jenny Solheim, Omaha, NE
2010  Emma Johanningsmeier, Omaha, NE
2009  Bobby Larsen, Papillion, NE
2009  Alexis Sharp, Omaha, NE
2008  Pierce Dageforde, Omaha, NE
2007  Sarah Mirza, Grand Island, NE
2006  Ben Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2005  Ben Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2004  Katie Nespor, Fullerton, NE
2003  Regina Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2002  Regina Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2001  Regina Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2000  Ester Wright, Columbus, NE
1999  Kristin Sargeant, Bellevue, NE
1998  Kristin Sargeant, Bellevue, NE
1997  Stephen Wright, Columbus, NE
1996  Matthew Wright, Columbus, NE
1995  Matthew Wright, Columbus, NE
1994  Jennifer Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
1993  Jennifer Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
1992  Christopher Brown, Lincoln, NE
1991  Camille Schaffer, Columbus, NE
1990  Megan Brown, Omaha, NE

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.



Breaking News

Huskers Breaking News

News Alert