Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Ackerman: Knoxville Late Model event keeps growing

Ackerman: Knoxville Late Model event keeps growing

While it has a ways to go to be in the same league as the Knoxville Sprint Car Nationals, the Knoxville Late Model Nationals, held at the legendary Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa, continues to grow.

Last year, more than 80 teams were on hand for the three-day Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event, which pays out $40,000 to win on Saturday night.

“We believe our event is unique in that it is a different format than these (drivers) are used to and love it,” said Brian Stickel, Knoxville Raceway general manager. “Often, the 100-lap feature on Saturday night comes down to the last lap and even the last turn. In nine years we have had eight different champions with only Scott Bloomquist repeating.”

NASCAR drivers Tony Stewart and Ryan Newman have raced in the event. Stewart finished second one year after having to go to the back of the pack more than once.

The event has complete shows on Thursday and Friday in which points are awarded. The number of points each driver earns sets the field for Saturday’s finale. Most of the best Dirt Late Model drivers in the country will be on hand.

Off-Road Motorcycle Nationals headed for Council Bluffs

The eighth round of the 2013 Off-Road Motorcycle Nationals will be held just across the South Omaha Bridge in Council Bluffs at the River Valley OHV Park on Sunday. Stan Gregory, one of the park managers, says some of the best riders in the country will be on hand for the event.

The official location of River Valley Park is 4400 Veterans Memorial Highway.

Season champions crowned at local and area tracks

Tracks have finished their weekly racing and have crowned their champions for 2013. Here are track champions from a few of the tracks:

» I-80 Speedway: Jase Kaser of Lincoln in Super Late Models; Jared Hoefelman of Columbus in A Mods; Shawn Harker of Nebraska City in B Mods; Dave Jorgensen Jr. of Omaha in Grand Nationals; Curt Drake of Murray in ProAm/Stock Cars; and Joe Baker of Omaha in Hornets.

» Eagle Raceway: Mike Boston of Alvo in Racesaver Sprints; Dylan Smith of Osceola in A Mods; Gary Saathoff of Beatrice in Sports Mods; Roy Armstrong of Beatrice in Hobby Stocks; and Matt Moyer of Gretna in Sport Compacts.

» Junction Motor Speedway: Jase Kaser of Lincoln in Late Models; Tyler Iverson of Albion in A Mods; Kevin Betzen of David City in B Mods; Troy Paxton of Grand Island in Hobby Stocks; and Steve Moock of Chapman in 4 cylinder.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Lee covers Midlands racing for The World-Herald.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.



Breaking News

Huskers Breaking News

News Alert