You are the owner of this article.

PCL realignment set for 2014

  • 0

Colorado Springs and Oklahoma City will join Omaha and Iowa in the American Northern Division as the 16-team PCL realigns slightly for 2014.

The conferences and divisions were changed with El Paso replacing Tucson in the league lineup.

Memphis and Nashville move from the American Northern to the American Southern, joining New Orleans and Round Rock.

Oklahoma City moved from the American Southern to join Omaha’s division, while the other American Southern team, Albuquerque, will join El Paso, Las Vegas and Salt Lake in the Pacific Southern.

Colorado Springs had been in the Pacific Northern with Salt Lake, Tacoma and Reno. That division will drop Salt Lake while adding Sacramento and Fresno from the American Southern.

The league’s postseason format will remain the same, with division champions from the American and Pacific conferences playing off for the conference title and a berth in the PCL championship series.

In the regular season, teams in the same conference play one another 16 times — eight home and eight away. Each team plays every foe from the other conference four times, alternating between a four-game home series, home and away, every season.

So, effectively, Omaha will now play Colorado Springs 16 times each season rather than four, and Albuquerque four times instead of 16.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.

OWHsports on Twitter