Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Omaha's new high schools will join Metro Conference, play Class A in all sports but football

  • Updated
  • 0

Omaha’s two new high schools will be in the Metro Conference when they open next fall and will be Class A in all sports but football.

Buena Vista and Westview, which will open with only freshmen and sophomores, are asking for Class B football schedules from the Nebraska School Activities Association.

New OPS Director of Athletics John Krogstrand said in a statement that the decisions were made after discussions with principals Carrie Carr at Buena Vista and Thomas Lee at Westview.

“Our focus is always on opportunities for the students we serve, and that is driving the decisions we make amid a complicated scheduling equation,” he said.

The rationale included that “each school receives a full schedule of varsity and subvarsity competitions as well as providing like opportunities for all of our schools and participants.” The Metro was preferable to a league of mostly Class B teams for temporary membership while the schools add grades in 2023 and 2024, or competing without a league.

Their addition will expand the Metro Conference to 20 boys and 20 girls schools, the most since the league high of 21 boys and 21 girls schools in 1981.

Tuesday was the NSAA’s deadline for schools to declare whether they would be in 11-man, eight-man or six-man football for the next two seasons and whether they would opt up or down from where their enrollments placed them. Opting down would mean forfeiting playoff eligibility.

Omaha Gross will stay in Class B for football, but Omaha Roncalli will be in Class C-1. Both schools had their enrollments fall below the cutoff of 160 boys to be in Class B, but Gross elected to opt up.

Amherst and West Holt are going from eight-man to 11-man. From 11-man to eight-man are Bridgeport, Crofton, North Platte St. Patrick’s, Superior, Sutton and Twin River. From six-man to eight-man are McCool Junction and Silver Lake, and from eight-man to six-man are Brady and Garden County.

Two 11-man co-op sponsorship teams have dissolved. Bancroft-Rosalie and Lyons-Decatur will break into eight-man teams. Wood River will stay in 11-man, but Shelton will play six-man.

New co-op teams, both in eight-man, are Tri County Northeast (Allen and Emerson-Hubbard) and Riverside/Spalding Academy.

There will be 131 teams in 11-man, 115 in eight-man and 34 in six-man.


Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Reporter - High school sports

Stu is The World-Herald's lead writer for high school sports and for golf. Follow him on Twitter @stuOWH. Email

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.



Breaking News

Huskers Breaking News

News Alert