Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Six members of 1971 national championship team make Nebraska Football Hall of Fame

Six members of 1971 national championship team make Nebraska Football Hall of Fame

Take a look at some of our best photos of Scott Frost through the years.

Six members of Nebraska's 1971 national championship team make up the 2021 Nebraska Football Hall of Fame class.

Those players are: defensive end John Adkins, center Doug Dumler, defensive tackle Bill Janssen, tight end Jerry List, monster back Dave Mason and offensive guard Keith Wortman.

The 1971 team captured the second of Nebraska's five national championships. That season the Huskers went 13-0, beat Oklahoma in the Game of the Century and routed Alabama in the Orange Bowl to claim the national title.

  • • Texts from columnists
  • • The most breaking Husker news
  • • Cutting-edge commentary
  • • Husker history photo galleries
Get started

The 2021 Hall of Fame class will be officially inducted during a banquet Sept. 10 in Lincoln and also recognized the following day during the Huskers' game against Buffalo. The 2020 class — Doug DuBose, Ray Phillips, Carl Selmer, Van Brownson, Dan Schneiss and Wally Winter — will also be recognized at the banquet because last year's ceremony was canceled due to the pandemic.

More information on the 2021 class:

John Adkins (1968-71): A three-year letterwinner, received honorable mention All-Big Eight in 1971, an Academic All-American in 1970. He made 41 tackles, including 10 for loss, during his senior season in 1971.

Doug Dumler (1970-72): A three-year starter at center, second-team All-Big Eight, played five seasons in the NFL with the Patriots and Vikings.

Bill Janssen (1969-72): Played defensive end, offensive guard, center and defensive tackle, second-team All-Big Eight, made 48 tackles with eight for loss as a senior.

Jerry List (1970-72): Received honorable mention All-Big Eight, finished his career with 67 receptions, with at least 20 each in three straight seasons. List passed away in 1993.

Dave Mason (1969-72): Second-team All-Big Eight in 1972 and returned three interceptions for touchdowns in 1971.

Keith Wortman (1970-71): A standout offensive lineman on two national championship teams, received honorable mention All-Big Eight in 1971, played 10 seasons in the NFL with the Packers and Cardinals.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.



Breaking News

Huskers Breaking News

News Alert